Compare IGNOU BAG and BAM: Structure, Credits, Fees and Admission
Contents
- IGNOU BAG vs BAM: what each one is and how they differ
- IGNOU BAG vs BAM recognition and validity
- IGNOU BAG vs BAM courses offered
- IGNOU BAG vs BAM fees, course by course
- IGNOU BAG vs BAM admission: sessions, last dates and portals
- IGNOU BAG vs BAM study material, classes and study centres
- IGNOU BAG vs BAM assignments and exams
- IGNOU BAG vs BAM credit transfer, migration and re-admission
- IGNOU BAG or BAM: which is better for you
- Common IGNOU Questions
- Notices and Documents from IGNOU

IGNOU BAG vs BAM: what each one is and how they differ
| Point | BAG | BAM |
|---|---|---|
| University | Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), New Delhi | Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), New Delhi |
| Learning mode | Open and Distance Learning (ODL); the programme is listed among the ODL programmes | Open and Distance Learning (ODL); the programme is listed among the ODL programmes |
| Two-year M.Com eligibility | MCOM (2 years) requires a Bachelor’s degree or a higher degree from a recognised university | MCOM (2 years) requires a Bachelor’s degree or a higher degree from a recognised university |
| Two-year MA eligibility | MA Political Science (2 years) requires a Bachelor’s degree or a higher degree (July 2026) | MA Political Science (2 years) requires a Bachelor’s degree or a higher degree (July 2026) |
| One-year M.Com eligibility | One-year M.Com (MCOMOY) requires any four-year Bachelor’s degree with Honours or Honours with Research | One-year M.Com (MCOMOY) requires any four-year Bachelor’s degree with Honours or Honours with Research |
| One-year MA eligibility | One-year MA English (MAEGOY) requires any four-year Bachelor’s degree with Honours or Honours with Research (July 2026) | One-year MA English (MAEGOY) requires any four-year Bachelor’s degree with Honours or Honours with Research (July 2026) |
| Curriculum scheme | BAG follows the UGC Choice Based Credit System, adopted by IGNOU from the July 2019 session | Offered under NEP 2020 in line with the UGC Curriculum and Credit Framework for Undergraduate Programmes (FYUP section of the prospectus) |
BAG only
BAM only
IGNOU BAG vs BAM recognition and validity
| Point | BAG | BAM |
|---|---|---|
| AIU recognition of awards | Degrees, diplomas and certificates awarded by IGNOU are recognised by all member institutions of the Association of Indian Universities | Degrees, diplomas and certificates awarded by IGNOU are recognised by all member institutions of the Association of Indian Universities |
| Equivalence with conventional degrees | UGC regulation quoted by IGNOU: UG/PG degrees and PG diplomas through ODL or Online mode are treated as equivalent to the corresponding conventional-mode awards | UGC regulation quoted by IGNOU: UG/PG degrees and PG diplomas through ODL or Online mode are treated as equivalent to the corresponding conventional-mode awards |
| Standing versus UGC-DEB approved | IGNOU states its programmes are at par with programmes approved by the UGC-Distance Education Bureau | IGNOU states its programmes are at par with programmes approved by the UGC-Distance Education Bureau |
| UGC-DEB list entry | A plain “Bachelor of Arts” (ODL, UG) row for IGNOU is on the UGC-DEB list for 2026-27, July session | A plain “Bachelor of Arts” (ODL, UG) row for IGNOU is on the UGC-DEB list for 2026-27, July session |
BAG only
BAM only
More on the IGNOU degree: whether an IGNOU degree is valid and IGNOU degree certificate, migration and convocation.
IGNOU BAG vs BAM courses offered
| Point | BAG | BAM |
|---|---|---|
| Credit definition | One credit = 30 hours of learner study | One credit = 30 hours of learner study |
| Minimum and maximum duration | Minimum 3 years (six semesters), maximum 6 years Minimum 36 months, maximum 72 months |
Minimum 3 years, maximum 6 years Minimum 36 months, maximum 72 months 3 years (July 2026) |
| Total credits | 132 credits | 120 credits in a minimum of six semesters (three years) |
| Credits per semester | 22 credits in each of the six semesters | 18 credits in semester 1, 22 in semester 2, 20 in each of semesters 3-6; 40 credits per year |
| Disciplines offered | Two disciplines out of fourteen: Anthropology, English, Economics, Hindi, History, Mathematics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Sanskrit, Sociology, Urdu, Education, Philosophy | 14: Anthropology, Economics, Education, English, Hindi, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Sanskrit, Sociology, Urdu |
| Core courses | Twelve core courses: four in languages and four in each of the two chosen disciplines, in semesters 1-4 | 72 credits: 24 credits (four 6-credit courses) from each of the three disciplines |
| Ability Enhancement Courses | AECCs are 4 credits each, one in semester 1 and one in semester 2; semester 1 is BEVAE-181 Environmental Studies | Two 4-credit courses = 8 credits, in semesters 2 and 3 |
| Credit split by category | Core 12 courses x 6 = 72; Discipline Specific Elective 4 x 6 = 24; Generic Electives 2 x 6 = 12; AECC 2 x 4 = 8; SEC 4 x 4 = 16; total 24 courses, 132 credits | DSC 72 + VOC 12 + AEC 8 + IDC/SEC 22 + VAC 6 = 120 credits |
BAG only
BAM only
Minimum and maximum duration
| Programme | BAG duration | BAM duration |
|---|---|---|
| BA | 3 years to 6 years (+2 years via re-admission) | 3 years to 6 years |
Eligibility as published
| Programme | BAG eligibility | BAM eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| BA | 10+2 or its equivalent | 10+2 or its equivalent |
IGNOU course guides: IGNOU BA; IGNOU MBA; IGNOU MA; IGNOU MCA and IGNOU syllabus.
IGNOU student services
IGNOU BAG vs BAM fees, course by course
The July 2023 programme guide for BAG, which is superseded, listed a fee of Rs. 3,800 per year, totalling Rs. 11,400, plus a Rs. 300 registration fee in the first year.
For BAM, the prospectus states a programme fee of Rs. 5,000 per year for the July 2026 session, making the total fee Rs. 15,000 over three years. Learners opting for the Psychology discipline in BAM must pay an extra Rs. 600 per year. The July 2023 BAG programme guide also mentioned an extra Rs. 600 for learners choosing Psychology practicum.
| Point | BAG | BAM |
|---|---|---|
| Programme fee notification | Rs. 5,000 (revised from Rs. 4,800), shared row “BAM /BAG”, for the July 2026 and January 2027 admission cycles | Rs. 5,000 (revised from Rs. 4,800), shared row “BAM /BAG”, for the July 2026 and January 2027 admission cycles |
| Programme fee ignou.ac.in | Rs. 5,000 “for Full Programme” | Rs. 5,000 “for Full Programme” (conflicts with the prospectus, which says per year) |
| University Development fee | Rs. 400, paid at admission in addition to the programme fee (July 2026) | Rs. 400, paid at admission in addition to the programme fee (July 2026) |
| Psychology practicum fee | Extra Rs. 600 for learners opting for Psychology (Programme Guide July 2023) | Extra Rs. 600 per year for learners opting for the Psychology discipline |
BAG only
BAM only
Fees of the programmes both run, as each publishes them
| Programme | BAG fee | BAM fee |
|---|---|---|
| BA | Rs. 5,000 (Notification 103, row “BAM/BAG”; basis not stated) (July 2026 / January 2027 fee notification; no fresh-admission listing found) | Rs. 5,000 per year (July 2026 (same fee notified for January 2027)) |
IGNOU fees in full: IGNOU fee structure.
IGNOU BAG vs BAM admission: sessions, last dates and portals
Students applying to IGNOU’s BAG or BAM programmes can register twice a year, in January and July. Both programmes charge a non-refundable registration fee of Rs. 300, which is paid at the time of admission on top of the programme fee. As of 27 October 2026, the admission portal shows that registration for the July 2026 ODL cycle is over for both BAG and BAM. The portal does not yet display dates for the January 2027 admission cycle.
IGNOU states that students may pursue two academic programmes simultaneously through ODL or Online mode, subject to certain conditions. For BAM, re-entry is allowed for UG Certificate holders into the second year of the same programme, provided entry occurs within 7 years of the certificate award. The BAG programme code is included in the December 2026 term-end examination date sheet, indicating it is still examined for continuing learners.
| Point | BAG | BAM |
|---|---|---|
| Registration fee | Rs. 300, non-refundable, paid at admission in addition to the programme fee (July 2026) | Rs. 300, non-refundable, paid at admission in addition to the programme fee (July 2026) |
| Admission cycles | Two admission cycles a year: January and July (July 2026) | Two admission cycles a year: January and July (July 2026) |
| Current admission portal status | Portal shows the July 2026 ODL cycle and says registration for July 2026 is over; January 2027 dates not shown | Portal shows the July 2026 ODL cycle and says registration for July 2026 is over; January 2027 dates not shown |
| Pursue two programmes | A student may pursue two academic programmes simultaneously through ODL / Online mode (conditions apply) (July 2026) | A student may pursue two academic programmes simultaneously through ODL / Online mode (conditions apply) (July 2026) |
BAG only
- Examined for continuing learners: Code BAG is in the programme-code list of the December 2026 term-end examination date sheet (December 2026 TEE)
BAM only
- Re-entry after exit: Re-entry allowed in Major as well as Multidisciplinary programmes: UG Certificate holders enter year 2, UG Diploma holders enter year 3 of the same programme (July 2025 onward)
- Re-entry with UG Certificate: IGNOU UG Certificate holders get entry to the second year of the same programme (July 2025 onward)
- Entry window after UG Certificate: Entry to an IGNOU programme within 7 years of award of the UG Certificate (July 2025 onward)
- Listed on admission portal: BAM is listed on the ODL admission portal (July 2026)
IGNOU admission this session: IGNOU admission 2026; how to apply to IGNOU online; IGNOU admission last date and IGNOU admission status.
IGNOU BAG vs BAM study material, classes and study centres
The study material for both IGNOU BAG and BAM programmes is provided as printed self-instructional study material, which can be a print book or an e-book. Learners opting for soft copies instead of printed material receive a 15% discount on the programme fee for both BAG and BAM.
| Point | BAG | BAM |
|---|---|---|
| Self-learning material provided | Printed self-instructional study material is provided (print book and/or e-book) | Printed self-instructional study material is provided (print book and/or e-book) |
| Soft-copy discount | 15% discount on the programme fee for learners who opt for soft copy instead of printed material | 15% discount on the programme fee for learners who opt for soft copy instead of printed material |
IGNOU books and centres: IGNOU study material and IGNOU regional and study centres.
IGNOU BAG vs BAM assignments and exams
Both IGNOU’s BAG and BAM programmes require assignments to be submitted before students can take the term-end examinations. This applies to the July 2026 session for both degrees. The University conducts term-end examinations twice a year, typically in June and December, for both the BAG and BAM programmes, also applicable to the July 2026 session.
The IGNOU assignment page lists CBCS/BAG assignments for July 2025-January 2026. The BAM programme publishes its assignments as “Four Year Under Graduate Programme (FYUG)/BAM” for July 2025-January 2026.
IGNOU states that it provides numerical marks and division (I, II or Pass) on request for both BAG and BAM students. This applies to the July 2026 session.
| Point | BAG | BAM |
|---|---|---|
| Assignments compulsory | Assignment responses must be submitted before taking the term-end examinations (July 2026) | Assignment responses must be submitted before taking the term-end examinations (July 2026) |
| Term-end exam sessions | Twice a year, ordinarily June and December (July 2026) | Twice a year, ordinarily June and December (July 2026) |
| Numerical marks and division | On request the University provides numerical marks and division (I, II or Pass) (July 2026) | On request the University provides numerical marks and division (I, II or Pass) (July 2026) |
| Assignments issued | IGNOU assignment page lists CBCS/BAG assignments for July 2025-January 2026 | IGNOU assignment page lists “Four Year Under Graduate Programme (FYUG)/BAM” assignments for July 2025-Jan 2026 (July 2025-January 2026) |
BAG only
IGNOU exam cycle: IGNOU assignments; IGNOU date sheet; IGNOU hall ticket and IGNOU result and grade card.
IGNOU BAG vs BAM credit transfer, migration and re-admission
For both BAG and BAM, IGNOU states that a student from another university can be admitted to complete an equivalent programme. This admission is based on credits already earned at their previous institution. The university assesses these credits for transfer.
BAM has an additional provision for lateral entry from another institution. This is only possible if the Major and Minor disciplines from the previous institution match those offered by IGNOU. If the disciplines do not match, the student must apply for admission to year 1, and any previously earned credits are then assessed for transfer.
BAM only
- Lateral entry from other institution: Entry from another institution only if Major and Minor disciplines match those offered by IGNOU; otherwise admission to year 1 and credit transfer
For enrolled IGNOU students: IGNOU re-registration.
IGNOU BAG or BAM: which is better for you
For students aiming for a two-year Master’s degree, IGNOU’s BAG and BAM programmes both provide eligibility. A two-year Master of Commerce (MCOM) requires a Bachelor’s degree or a higher degree from a recognised university, which both programmes offer. However, for those considering a one-year Master’s degree, such as the one-year MA English (MAEGOY) for the July 2026 session, a four-year Bachelor’s degree with Honours or Honours with Research is required. Neither BAG nor BAM is a four-year programme; both are three-year degrees.
Students who prefer a broad-based curriculum with two disciplines should go with BAG. BAG allows selection of two disciplines out of fourteen, such as Anthropology or Economics. This is plus a Rs. 300 registration fee and a Rs. 400 University Development fee.
Students seeking a multidisciplinary approach with multiple exit options should consider BAM. BAM is offered under NEP 2020 and allows students to choose three disciplines from five groups. BAM offers exit points after the first and second year, where a UG Certificate or UG Diploma is awarded on demand after completing an extra 4-credit vocational course.
For those interested in the current admission cycle, the IGNOU admission portal shows that registration for the July 2026 ODL cycle is over. Dates for the January 2027 cycle are not yet published.
Common IGNOU Questions
Which IGNOU BA programme, BAG or BAM, is better suited for students seeking a broad education across two subjects?
The BAG programme is designed as a broad-based programme, allowing students to choose two disciplines from a list of fourteen. BAM is a multidisciplinary degree that requires students to select three disciplines from five distinct groups. Therefore, BAG is more suitable for those focusing on two subjects.
What is the total programme fee for IGNOU BAG compared to BAM?
Both programmes also require a Rs. 300 registration fee and a Rs. 400 University Development fee at admission.
How do the recognition and degree value of IGNOU BAG and BAM compare?
Both BAG and BAM degrees awarded by IGNOU are recognised by all member institutions of the Association of Indian Universities. The UGC also treats UG degrees through ODL or Online mode as equivalent to conventional-mode awards. IGNOU further states that its programmes, including BAG and BAM, are at par with those approved by the UGC-Distance Education Bureau.
What are the eligibility requirements for admission to IGNOU BAG versus BAM?
Both the BAG and BAM programmes require candidates to have completed 10+2 or its equivalent for admission. There are no additional specific academic thresholds or entrance exams mentioned for either programme. This means the basic entry criteria are identical for both.
When are the admission dates for IGNOU BAG and BAM programmes?
Both BAG and BAM have two admission cycles per year, in January and July. For the July 2026 ODL cycle, registration is currently over. Dates for the January 2027 admission cycle are not yet published.
Do IGNOU BAG and BAM provide the same type of study material and classes?
Both BAG and BAM programmes provide printed self-instructional study material, which can be either a print book or an e-book. Learners also have the option to receive a 15% discount on the programme fee if they opt for soft copies instead of printed material.
What are the requirements for assignments and exams in IGNOU BAG and BAM?
For both BAG and BAM, assignment responses must be submitted before students can take the term-end examinations. Term-end examinations are held twice a year, usually in June and December. Students need at least 35% (Grade D) in assignments and in the term-end exam of each course, and overall, to pass.
Where are the term-end examinations held for IGNOU BAG and BAM?
However, examinations are ordinarily held twice a year, in June and December.
In which medium of instruction are IGNOU BAG and BAM offered?
The BAG programme is offered in English medium. the BAM programme is available in both English and Hindi mediums. This provides more flexibility for BAM students regarding their language of study.
Can a student change from IGNOU BAG to BAM or combine them?
The information does not state whether a student can directly change from BAG to BAM or vice-versa. However, IGNOU allows students to pursue two academic programmes simultaneously through ODL/Online mode, subject to certain conditions. This means a student could potentially pursue both, but not necessarily transfer credits between them as a change of programme.
What kind of support is available for students in IGNOU BAG and BAM?
Both BAG and BAM students receive printed self-instructional study material, which can be a print book or an e-book. There is also a 15% discount on the programme fee for those who choose soft copies.
Notices and Documents from IGNOU
- BAM Common Prospectus July 2026
- Programme Guide Bag July 2023
- IGNOU Tentative Date Sheet December 2026 Term End Examination
- IGNOU Notification 103 Revised Programme Fees 2026
- Programme Page BAG
- BAM Samarth Portal Admission Home
- BAM Ugc Deb IGNOU Bachelor Rows
- BAM Assignments Bachelor Page
- IGNOU Four Year Undergraduate Programme MEME Scheme July 2025
- Programme Page BAM
- BAM Samarth Portal Programmes List